Minor in Possession
Drinking and Possessing Alcohol
If you are under the age of 21, it is illegal to possess any alcoholic beverage in Florida. You may be arrested or given a notice to appear.
The concern for many visiting the area during spring break or vacation is they will not still be in Fort Walton Beach or Destin, Florida, when their court date is scheduled.
Why hire a private attorney for a Minor in Possession charge:
– Concern for the Penalties of the offense (outlined below);
– Your attorney will file a notice of appearance on your behalf, usually waive your arraignment, and work to resolve the matter without the need for you to return to Destin or Fort Walton Beach.
– Work to have the charge dismissed (if first offense);
– Advise and assist you on having your criminal record Expunged or Sealed.
The penalties for violating this law are:
First Offense— second-degree misdemeanor: fine of $500 and sentenced up to 60 days in jail.
Second Offense— first-degree misdemeanor: fine of $1,000 and sentenced up to one year in jail.
In addition, the court shall direct the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles to withhold the issuance of,
n addition, the court shall direct the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles to withhold the issuance of, revoke or suspend your driver’s license or driving privileges as follows:
First Violation—Not less than six months and not more than one year.
Subsequent Violation—Up to a period of two years.
Florida Statute Section 562.111, Florida Statute Section 775.082, Florida Statute Section 775.083, Florida Statute Section 322.056