Report Plea to ANY Criminal charge in Writing (Florida Licensees)
Few people know that all licensees are required to report in writing to the Board within 30 days after entering a plea of guilty or nolo contendere (no contest), regardless of adjudication (A/G or A/W), to ANY crime in ANY jurisdiction. Often people think that if the criminal charge does not relate to their practice then they are not required to report it in writing. While this may be true in other states, Florida Statute §456.072(1)(x), requires written notification within 30 days of entry of a plea (other than a plea of “not guilty”) to the Board.
This includes DUIs, Reckless Driving, Trespass, and any other Misdemeanor of Felony charges.
As a former criminal prosecutor and former prosecutor for the Florida Department of Health, I have extensive knowledge, training and experience with criminal cases and the impact on Florida Health Licenses to include nurses (LPN, RN, ARNP, CRNA), massage therapists, podiatrists and others. It is highly recommended that you retain an attorney for your professional license while your criminal case is still pending. Communication between your criminal defense attorney and your licensure defense attorney, is essential to ensure the best possible outcome and understanding the impact of different resolutions of the criminal case on your license.
If your criminal case is already resolved, I will prepare and submit the required written report of the criminal case and outcome.
Call today to discuss your case at (850) 307-5665 or (800) 659-7547.